Dinner Beechlawn Hotel - 02/03/18

Click here for all the latest news and results for the Ulster Federation.

Dinner Beechlawn Hotel - 02/03/18

Postby willie reynolds » Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:03 am

The Annual presentation of awards night for the Ulster Federation will take place on Friday 2nd March, the venue will be the Beechlawn Hotel in Dunmurry. As usual the presentation will include the famous Millar Gold Cup won this season from St Malo by Carter Bros of Drogheda. The AGM was held in the Balmoral Hotel on Wednesday 21st February, Peter Martin was elected to fill the position of Secretary. Tel: 07770 415941.
New Ulster Fed press officer is Joe Ward - New Ulster Fed convoyer is Allan Place.

Presentation Report by Steve McGarry

The annual presentation night for the Ulster Federation took place at the weekend in the Beechlawn Hotel in Dunmurry. It was also the presentation of the most sought after award within the IHU – the Millar Gold Cup. Unfortunately this year’s winners Carter Bros of Drogheda Inv were unable to attend due to the bad weather. The Old Bird Fancier of the Year was T & K Mawhinney of Lagan Valley. The Young Bird Fanciers of the Year were Kennedy & Lyons also Lagan Valley.

This was the final awards night for the retired secretary and treasurer Mr Jimmy O’Hara and Mr Paddy O’Neill, who between them have served the Ulster Federation for the past 45 years, working tirelessly for the organisation. I have been PO for the Ulster Fed for a few seasons now and I have to say Jimmy was on the ball at every Derby or Classic event with results. A pleasure to work with. I would like to personally wish Jimmy and Paddy best wishes on their retirement from the Ulster Fed and I would also like to wish the new officials in charge all the very best for the coming season ahead. The full list of 2017 award winners are listed below. Steve McGarry PO. Ulster Federation.

Trophy winners 2017: Old Bird Fancier of the Year – T & K Mawhinney, Lagan Valley, Young Bird Fancier of the Year – Kennedy & Lyons, Lagan Valley, Penzance OB Championship – M & M McGuigan, Penzance 2 Bird Average – P J Martin & Tabb, Skibbereen YB Derby – Fegan & McAdorey, Skibbereen YB Derby r/u McGann Bros, Talbenny YB Derby – J & L Smyth, Talbenny YB Derby r/u – J & L Smyth, Skibbereen OB Championship – Johnston Bros, Skibbereen OB Championship r/u – Johnston Bros,Fermoy 5 Bird Championship – Kennedy & Lyons, Fermoy 5 Bird Championship r/u – Kennedy & Lyons, Talbenny (1) OB – J & J McAlorum, Talbenny (2) OB – T & K Mawhinney, Bude OB – J & J McAlorum, Penzance OB – M & M McGuigan, IHU Merit Award – Spence Bros, IHU Merit Award – R Ward & Brothers.

Old Bird Races: Kildare – A & A Fearon, Kildate – T & K Mawhinney, Thurles – J Ward & Son, Fermoy – T & L Cooke, Skibbereen – Johnston Bros, Talbenny (1) – J & J McAlorum, Talbenny (2) – T & K Mawhinney, Bude – J & J McAlorum, Fermoy – Fegan & McAdorey, Penzance – M & M McGuigan.

Young Bird Races: Navan – P & K McCarthy, Navan – Kennedy & Lyons, Kildare – Kennedy & Lyons, Thurles – Smyth & Bittles, Thurles – J Kennedy & Son, Fermoy – Kennedy & Lyons, Fermoy S P Haughey, Talbenny – J & L Smyth, Kildare – J & J McAlorum, Fermoy – Kennedy & Lyons, Skibbereen – Fegan & McAdorey.

The vast array of cups, trophies and diplomas ready for the presentation.

Jim Braniff (l) and good friend Artie O'Hanlon looking after the famous Millar Gold Cup.

Jess Mawhinney happy with her awards from Ulster Federation Dinner last weekend.
willie reynolds
Posts: 5576
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:44 pm

Return to Ulster Federation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest