INFC Yearling Nat 13/06/18 – 1st Open Martin Graham

INFC Yearling Nat 13/06/18 – 1st Open Martin Graham
Andrew Lacey from Sallynoggin, best in the Stillorgan Station.

Andrew Lacey from Sallynoggin, best in the Stillorgan Station.

Martin Graham, Ballymena & District HPS.

Martin Graham, Ballymena & District HPS.

Sennen Cove Liberation Wednesday 13th June.

Wednesday 13th June 2018 – Sennen Cove Yearling National – Sponsored by H. Beattie & Son.

673 members have entered 3984 pigeons in the race and are competing for £32,135.00 in pools and prize money.

The pigeons were liberated at 06:45 the wind at the release site was a light northerly turning south westerly on route.

Sennen Cove Yearling National Update

Sennen Cove Yearling National – Provisional Result  (subject to change).

Wednesday 13th June 2018 @ 21:45

1 Martin Graham  Ballymena 1419, 2 Jeff Greenaway Dromore 1394, 3 Danny Dixon Ballymoney 1386, 4 Kennedy & Lyons Lagan Valley 1379, 5 Alan Darragh Cullybackey 1373, 6 A Darragh Cullybackey 1371.7, 7 McCracken Bros. Banbridge 1371.4, 8 Aanold  Thompson Ballyclare 1365, 9 A Darragh Cullybackey 1361, 10 R G & G Donaldson Blackwatertown W. E. 1360

South Section – Thorpe, Ward & McMorrow Trim H.P.S. 1255

All prizes and pools have been claimed on the first day.

For any further clock checking please contact your nearest clock station manager.

Muckamore Station Sennen Cove Ylr Nat –

Martin Graham Ballymena 1419, Danny Dixon Ballymoney 1386, Alan Darragh Cullybackey 1373, Alan Darragh Cullybackey 1371.7, Arnold Thompson Ballyclare 1365, Alan Darragh Cullybackey 1361. Young McManus & Sons Ahoghill 1329, J Burrows Eastway 1313, G & R Lawrie Ballyclare 1306, A McBride Harryville 1294, Bingham & Seaton Ligoniel 1284, M/M B McNeilly Doagh & Dist 1280, A Thompson Ballyclare 1280, J Burrows Eastway 1278, Higginson & Fasciolo Ballyclare 1268, G McNeilly Ballyclare 1267, G & R Lawrie Ballyclare 1259, J Dawson & Son 1247, D & R Turkington Doagh 1243, W D Rodgers Harryville 1242.

Every fanciers dream is to win a National and at 1.37pm on Wednesday 13th June this dream was fulfilled for Martin Graham of Ballymena & District, a club steeped in long distance tradition. His blue cock “Denman” romped home to win this seasons Yearling National event in some style. Over the last years forty two year Martin has only concentrated on the Derby and National races and has amassed many fantastic results. They include 1st section, 1st Open NIPA Skibbereen OB Inland National with “Sunnyhill Lass”, 1st Section & 2nd Open NIPA Lamballe OB National with “Champion Siobhan”, 2nd Section & 4th Open NIPA St Malo OB National and only last season with “Brenda Anne” had the only bird in the Mid Antrim Section B and 7th open NIPA St Malo OB National. The list goes on and on.

Now to the winning blue cock, and a bit of a story here. Martin’s father in law Denis Craig gave up the pigeons at the end of last season and Denis gave him a few birds to break in. During the beginning of this year Martin broke the birds in and “Denman” was one of these. From the Rosscarberry OB National “Denman” won 1st Club, 23rd Section & 88th Open NIPA and then was placed 2nd Club in the Skibbereen INFC National. On to the motivation and he was feeding his first ever youngster and in Martin’s own words “I had noticed the previous Monday before the National he had got very keen as the eggs were chipping. Between Wednesday and Friday of that week when I came home from work I lifted his hen every evening making him sit until after 9 o’clock at night. On the Saturday and Sunday evening I noticed him pushing the hen off the youngster and he continued to sit on it until 9.00pm every night”. He had a full wing and hadn’t dropped a flight and also dominated the section he was in not allowing another bird near.

Breeding is Hartog, Soontjen and Busschaert and was bred by M.D.C. Magill of the Harryville HPS in the town. In closing Martin would like to thank all the fanciers who called at the door, rang or texted him to congratulate him. He would also like to thank his father in law especially for gifting him this wonderful yearling cock which has turned out to be a racing machine, hence why Martin named the cock after him. Mervyn Eagleson PO.

Balbriggan Station Sennen Cove Ylr Nat –

Thorpe Ward & McMorrow Trim 1255, Liam Donnelly & Son 1248, B & P Emmett 1246, J McLoughlin 1241, J Guildea & Son 1231, K Sharkey 1191, J Ellison 1180, T Hartford & Son 1173, A Morgan 1171, C Reid 1168, D Brown 1151, P J Corcoran & Son 1235, J Hanley & Mother 1107, V Flood & Son 1094, B & P Emmett 1083, D Brown 1077, N Grant & Son 950, J McLoughlin 929, P J Corcoran & Son 884.

Stillorgan Station Sennen Cove Ylr Nat –

Andrew Lacey 1209, Curran & Rush 1174, M Myler 1106, Dave McMahon & Family 1105, M & M Lyons 1103, M Maguire & Son 1080, Ray Matthews 1069, 1061, McCann & Whelan 1039, Ray Matthews 996, James Cullen 940, M Myler 940, Dylan & Connie Farre 875, M Maguire & Son 872, Brian Cully 813, McCann & Whelan 803, Tristan McLoughlin 802, 779, Ray Matthews 778, Mark Brohan 720.

Wicklow Station Sennen Cove Ylr Nat –

R Fewings 1253, Mohamad Niaz 1243, Paul & Mari 1233, S Leonard etc 1229, 1228, Jason Byrne 1213, G & M Doyle 1207, L McCall 1180, J Whittaker 1159, Hunter O’Neill  1151, Alan Duffy 1150, Ed Kavanagh 1137, R Fewings 1122, E Gilbert 1105, P Snell 1092.

Mid Antrim Combine Sennen Cove Ylr Nat – M Graham 1419, D Dixon Rasharkin 1386, Young McManus & Sons Ahoghill 1329, A McBride Associate 1294, W Ramsey 1224, D Dixon 1167, W Ramsey 1050.

Sallynoggin HPS – Andrew Lacey 1209, M & M Lyons 1103, Mick Maguire & son 1080, Ray Matthews 1069, Ray Matthews 1061, Mick Maguire & son 966, Ray Matthews 872 , Ray Matthews 778.This week’s race was the INFC Yearling national flown from Sennen Cove and the winner today was andrew lacey ,a great win for andrew today from 1 of the biggest races of the season ,andrew timed a lovely cheq cock to win 1st club sallynoggin also winning the pools and also the van nom wat the lads run from all the local clubs ,also 1st stillorgan clocking station and should be well up in the fed and south section today’s and hopefully a nice national position ,andrew said this cock was raced hard as a yb and he clocked him from the yb talbenny last season ,but this is only his 2nd race of the 2018 season its first race been talbenny last week as andrew has not been very well this season and has spent a lot of time in hospital so a great way to lift u up andrew after a though year health wise fantastic result only sending 2pigeons also ,andrews winner was bred from fellow club mate and friend Stephen Cunningham who gifted andrew a kit of 6 last season and this winner is from that kit ,and is down from stephens family of patrick jansen pigeons that have won plenty of races for stephen also over the past few years ,fair play stephen nice gesture to andrew ,andrew also wanted to thank his son and fellow club memeber Lossey Lacey for all his help while andrew was in hospital as without that help andrew would not of been able to race or even look after his birds ,so well done andrew on your win and i hope your health changes for the better and u have more great days like today . also well done to all members who clocked in a very though race and best of luck to u all the wkend for the bude open i hope use have some luck. Jamie Kelly PO

Results & Reports click here! THE FORUM PAGE IS UPDATED DAILY.

Prov RESULT – Sennen-Cove-Y.N.-2018

← NIPA Dunmanway - 1st Open D Calvin Eamon Grew 1st Open NIPA Talbenny (2) - →

About the author

Willie Reynolds

Covering the sport in Ireland for several years, scribe for both BHW & RP and a number of local newspapers including the News Letter (Farming Life Supplement) each Wednesday. Secretary of Ballymena & District for a number of years and currently PO for the Mighty NIPA & INFC. Watch out for the many articles/news items penned by HOMER.

Comments are closed