First Prize-night for Derry & District –

Winners 23 Mar 2013

Derry & Dist 1st Prize Night –

Time once again to dust off the laptop and get back to putting a few articles together. With the new season upon us, the weather is really poor at present and will most likely see training put on hold for many, as they wait for things to warm up a bit and a change from the biting easterly winds. Even as I write this article, we all have one eye on the weather, as snow is forecast for this, the third week in March. That said it isn’t uncommon to have snow at Easter and even at the start of April. I can remember a number of years ago when the NIPA had to put racing back due to snow and that was in the second week of April.

This week I was invited up to the Derry and District clubs presentation, which was held in the local Rocking Chair Bar. This is the clubs first presentation night, having only formed last year. It was good to see so many of the clubs own members in attendance supporting the club and also a good showing of members from most of the other local clubs.

The night got underway, with Chairman Stephen Barker, welcoming all the members from the Derry and District, and all those who had come from other clubs. A special welcome was extended to the well-known local flyer Pat McLaughlin who would be presenting the winners with their trophies. A special mention also went to all the members who made the night possible, through raising money from their young bird sale and to all the local fanciers who donated young birds and indeed purchased young birds at the sale.

A big thank you also to all the people who sponsored the club this year including, Liam Friel, Hugh Hegarty, The Telstar Bar, Anthony Gillen, McCausland Feeds, and Colm McConomy. I hope I haven’t missed anybody out. One last word of thanks to Brendan Duffy and staff of the Rocking Chair who yet again did a super job.

On then to the prizes, and first up was Joe Ebbs, who had a quiet season by his standards, winning the old bird Fermoy race. Joe would be a man more known for his channel performances.

Next to receive his trophy, was Eddie Mc Eleney who won the Roscarberry Old Bird National, a super fly and a nice race to win.

The next trophy was the new and very impressive St Malo trophy, which was won by Colm Mc Conomy and son. Colm is no stranger to winning the big one and always excels at the channel events.

Next up, was the first of the multiple prize-winners, Danny Cooley who had a very good season and wins Fermoy and Talbenny.

On then to Maxi Chism and Son, who although not long in the sport, are proving to be top fliers and very hard men to beat. Maxi takes four wins, including Roscrea, two Fermoy’s and a Talbenny.

Jim Ramsey and son Gary were next up, having won five races which included the Yearling National, the Roscarberry Young Bird National and three Tullamores.

Next to the table, one of the towns top fliers Kieran Reid who had a super season winning five races including Tullamore, Roscrea, Clonmel and Fermoy. Kieran also had a great win from Penzance, having the only bird in the club in race time.

Last but not least, we had the Derry and Districts top flyer, Anthony McCrudden. Again, another of the town’s top fliers, Anthony takes six wins, including Tullamore, Roscrea and Fermoy old birds and Roscrea, Fermoy and Talbenny young birds. Anthony’s young bird from Talbenny, was in fact the only day bird.

A good night then for all the members and visitors, and the first of many for the Derry and District.

As I said at the start of the piece, the new season is here again, and hopefully all the clubs will drop me an e-mail each week with their winners and perhaps a bit of info about the winning birds etc. A few photos of the clubs members would also be very handy as I can keep them on file and pull them out each week as I need them. It’s not hard to sort out and they can be e-mailed to me when you get them.

Well here’s to a good season for everybody, and I hope you all get a win somewhere along the line.

Anthony McCrudden collects the top prizewinner award from Pat McLaughlin.

Anthony McCrudden collects the top prizewinner award from Pat McLaughlin.

← Kevin Henderson of Lurgan Social - MAC Bird of the Year 2012 - →

About the author

Willie Reynolds

Covering the sport in Ireland for several years, scribe for both BHW & RP and a number of local newspapers including the News Letter (Farming Life Supplement) each Wednesday. Secretary of Ballymena & District for a number of years and currently PO for the Mighty NIPA & INFC. Watch out for the many articles/news items penned by HOMER.

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.