Mid Antrim Combine Awards

First Prize-Night for Mid Antrim Combine –

Ballymena & District clubrooms was the venue for the first presentation of Mid Antrim Combine, held on Wednesday 22nd February, fanciers and friends attended from Randalstown, Rasharkin, Cullybackey, Ballymena, and Ahoghill. Previously the awards won each season were presented at the various club functions, maybe next time it will be at a presentation dinner. Chairman Jackie Steele from Rasharkin & Dist welcomed all present and said we managed to get through a first season without some clubs who had decided to leave. Dixon Contractors from Dunloy were thanked for the sponsorship of the major races with both NIPA and INFC and also the Champions League to the total tune of £600. Danny also agreed to look after the production of race winning Diplomas and also the engraving for both 2016 and 2017 seasons.

As a result of that it will not be necessary to collect club member fees for next year at least, but we intend to charge a nominal Club Fee of £3.00 to cover RPRA fees etc. This and the possibility of taking Associate Members at a fee of £5.00 per loft will be considered at the AGM which is set for Ballymena & District HPS Clubrooms on Wednesday 15th March at 8.00pm.

The AGM date will also confirm the Rules List as required by RPRA and copies going to all member clubs. All local clubs are eligible for membership in 2017, hopefully we can move back up to full strength. The Management Committee will be 2 Delegates from each member club.

Assisted by Secretary Willie Reynolds the MAC Chairman Jackie Steele presented the Diplomas and the NIPA & INFC awards and Danny Dixon presented cups and trophies.

Race winners were – J & M Milliken Rasharkin (8), Danny Dixon Rasharkin(6), Young McManus & Sons Ahoghill (4), J Eagleson & Sons Ballymena (3) and one win each for Stewart Bros Randalstown, T Kaczynski Rasharkin, W & J Smyth Ballymena, J Orr & Son Ahoghill, McAlonan Bros Ballymena, F J & G Dickey Tandalstown, Blair & Rankin Ballymena, J W Reynolds Ballymena, McFall & McManus Ballymena, W J McLean Rasharkin, W Livingstone Ahoghill, H Boyd Randalstown and K Wilkinson & Son New Antrim.

In the Champions League winners Rasharkin & District will collect £100 with £50 going to runner-up Randalstown HPS. Winners in the INFC races were – Skibbereen Old Bird won by J & M Milliken (Rasharkin) £25, William Livingstone (Ahoghill) won Sennen Cove Yearling £25, Hugh Boyd (Randalstown) had the only bird in the Kings Cup St Allouestre £50, Danny Dixon (Rasharkin) had the only bird in the Quimper Friendship Nat £50. In the Young Birds Danny Dixon had 1st Penzance £25, and Ken Wilkinson & Son (New Antrim) had 1st Skibbereen £25.

Major race winners in the NIPA were – Rosscarbery Inl won by J Eagleson & Sons (Ballymena) £25, Rosscarbery Ylr Hen won by Young McManus & Sons (Ahoghill) £25, Rosscarbery Ylr Cock won by D Dixon £25, Fermoy 5 Bird in Old Bird won by Young McManus & Sons £25, Sennen Cove Classic won by McAlonan Bros (Ballymena) £25, St Malo Nat won by J & M Milliken £50, Talbenny YB won by Percy Son & Murphy (Randalstown) £25, Fermoy 5 Bird in Young Bird won by J & M Milliken £25 and finally Rosscarbery Nat won by D Dixon £25.

Cups & Trophies won in 2016 –

Old Bird Inland Average won by J & M Milliken Vel 1409, Cross Channel Average won by J & M Milliken Vel 1246, Old Bird Ave won by J & M Milliken Vel 1358, McIlhagga Cup for 1st MAC St Malo won by J & M Milliken Vel 965, B Eagleson Memorial Cup best average Talbenny (1) & (2), Bude and Penzance won by W & J Smyth Vel 1323, T Shanks & Son Cup Old Bird of the Year won by J Eagleson & Sons (GB15B-03612), Les Mairs OB Fancier of the Year won by D Dixon 196 Points, Young Bird Ave won by D Dixon Vel 1548, New North Cup best average Bude & Talbenny YB won by J & M Milliken Vel 1192, Combine Average won by J & M Milliken, and Young Bird of the Year won by Blair & Rankin (GB16H-01693).

Club Points Shield for Old Birds and Young Birds was won by Rasharkin & Dist. Champions League won by Rasharkin (J & M Milliken) runner-up Randalstown HPS (F J & G Dickey). INFC Cup not won.

Ballymena & Dist HPS were thanked for the use of the clubrooms and we hope to see all present again at the AGM in the same venue on 15th March.

See full report click here!


← Ulster Federation Presentation - RPRA Hall Report - Ring List 2017 →

About the author

Willie Reynolds

Covering the sport in Ireland for several years, scribe for both BHW & RP and a number of local newspapers including the News Letter (Farming Life Supplement) each Wednesday. Secretary of Ballymena & District for a number of years and currently PO for the Mighty NIPA & INFC. Watch out for the many articles/news items penned by HOMER.

Comments are closed