Ken Armstrong of Omagh wins fast OB National –

Ken Armstrong of Omagh wins fast OB National –
Ken Armstrong holding the winner of the Rosscarbery OB Nat.

Ken Armstrong holding the winner of the Rosscarbery OB NatKenny Armstrong wins NIPA Old Bird Inland National –

western warrior

The first major race of the Old Bird season was the Rosscarbery Inland National, with a super season to date with very few losses we had a massive entry both here and the comeback race from Corrin. Collecting that number of birds on the Friday evening posed many problems, and very well done to all the helpers who assisted till the early hours of the morning. Liberation in Rosscarbery was delayed till the birds had some rest and the low lying mist cleared, it was also a bit warmer later on. The leading positions were won at the top of the country Kenny Armstrong of Omagh & Dist had thonly bird exceeding 2100ypm on the day. Runner-up this time Davy Booth timed a bird that had won 1st Open NIPA last season.

A dream come true for Omagh fancier Ken Armstrong at the weekend when his two year old dark widowhood cock now christened “Western Warrior” topped the Old Bird Inland National from Roscarberry. The cock is full of the lofts best bloodlines the sire won section H and is closely related to Section H Champion old bird 2014, containing Billy Harper’s Lambrecht and Soontjen bloodlines. The dam is a very special breeder direct from the No.1 Lambrecht stock cock sire of 6 x 1st Section winners and a daughter of ‘Oh so Sharp’ bred by Eddie McGimpsey of Newtownards. Ken would like to pass on a huge thanks to his fellow club members at Omagh and District HPS and the many fanciers and friends who have phoned and called to congratulate him. A special thanks to Eddie and Norman McGimpsey for all the help and advice over the years.

NIPA Rosscarbery OB Inland Nat 577/6327 –

1-1H K Armstrong Omagh 2105, 2-2H D Booth Foyle 2096, 3-3H G Quinn Strabane 2065, 4-4H D Booth 2057, 5-5H D Booth 2055, 6-6H P Maxwell Foyle 2055, 7-1B K Glass Windsor Social 2049, 8-7H Devine & Harpur Strabane 2039, 9-1A K Murphy Coalisland 2037, 10-2A Diamond Bros & G McLaughlin Coleraine Prem 2029, 11-2B J & M Milliken Rasharkin 2023, 12-8H W McCloskey Amelia Earhart 2019, 13-1E W Walker Monaghan 2017, 14-9H K Armstrong 2009, 15-3A J L Madden Coleraine Prem 2005, 16-10H A Kelly 2003, 17-3B J & M Milliken 1995, 18-4B K Glass 1993, 19-2E D Calvin Bondhill 1985, 20-H N McGrotty Derry & Dist 1979.

Best in each NIPA Section:

Sect A 42/517 – K Murphy Coalisland 2037, Diamond Bros & G McLaughlin Coleraine Prem 2029, J L Madden Coleraine Prem 2005.

Sect B 83/868 – K Glass Windsor Soc 2049, J & M Milliken Rasharkin 2023, J & M Milliken 1995.

Sect C 121/1312 – R & J Baxter Larne & Dist 1950, Crawford & Robinson Larne & Dist 1950, Crawford & Robinson 1932.

Sect D 49/652 – I Rollins & Son Hills & Maze 1934, Cromie & Magee & Son Dromara 1925, J Kelly & Sons Dromore 1918.

Sect E 91/1110 – W Walker Monaghan 2017, D Calvin Bondhill 1985, Allister & Kruger 1974.

Sect F 27/185 – McCartan & Woodsides Killyleagh & Dist 1851, McCartan & Woodsides 1840, Morrison Bros Killyleagh & Dist 1830.

Sect G 59/793 – R Carson & Son Banbridge 1932, R McKelvey Newry & Dist 1929, Donnelly Bros Newry City 1921.

Sect H 49/257 – K Armstrong Omagh 2105, D Booth Foyle 2096, G Quinn Strabane 2065.

It would be appreciated if all NIPA Centres supplied the Top 10 in the Nat & Classic events to be included in race reports. Remember photos as well for all 1st Sect winners especially and a bit of bird detail. The various club winner’s, and many already do, should submit a photo each week for publication, can’t promise all will be used but will always do our best regardless.

Coleraine Centre – K Glass Windsor Soc 2049, Diamond Bros & G McLaughlin Coleraine Prem 2029, J L Madden Coleraine Prem 2005, K Glass 1993, D & H Stuart Ballymoney 1973, D Dixon Ballymoney 1955, T McCrudden Coleraine & Co Derry 1947, S Laverty Ballymoney 1946, J Connolly Ballymoney 1945, J Hutchinson & Son Ballymoney 1942.

Cullybackey Centre – J & M Milliken Rasharkin 2023, J & M Milliken 1995, G McDowell Kells 1977, J & M Milliken 1971, M/M Robinson Ahoghill 1969, H Boyd Randalstown 1953, A Darragh Cullybackey 1942, B Swann & Son Kells 1939, M Graham Ballymena 1919, Blair & Rankin Ballymena 1915.

Loughgall Centre – W Walker Monaghan 2017, D Calvin Bondhill 1985, Allister & Kruger Monaghan 1974, B & A Beattie Bondhill 1967, G Swift Monaghan 1954, Allister & Kruger 1951, D C & P McArdle Armagh 1942, D Calvin 1941, S Corrigan Loughgall 1931, B Corley Monaghan 1925.

Portadown Centre – D Lunn Laurelvale 1972, Hagan & Rowney Portadown & Drumcree 1947, Dowey Bros Laurelvale 1939, A Craig Laurelvale 1923, A Craig 1923, Rafferty & Toman Gilford 1921, J Geary & Son Portadown & Drumcree 1919, O Forde Edgarstown 1919, J Geary & Son 1914, D Love Edgarstown 1913.

Muckamore Centre 16/169 – McConville Bros Crumlin 1967, Fleming Bros Crumlin 1937, S Maginty Muckamore 1921, 1912, P McGarrity Crumlin 1911, McConville Bros 1911, 1902, P McGarrity 1900, J White Muckamore 1896, 1894, P McGarrity 1884.

NIPA Race/Date

Rosscarbery OB Inl Nat 19/05/18 – Lib 11.00, wind Lt South East


NIPA Result – Rosscarbery-Old-Bird-Nat-19th-May-2018

Report & Results click here!


← Trevor Scott & Son (Windsor Soc) 1st NIPA Corrin Philip Boyd of Annaghmore 1st Open Gowran Park (2) →

About the author

Willie Reynolds

Covering the sport in Ireland for several years, scribe for both BHW & RP and a number of local newspapers including the News Letter (Farming Life Supplement) each Wednesday. Secretary of Ballymena & District for a number of years and currently PO for the Mighty NIPA & INFC. Watch out for the many articles/news items penned by HOMER.

Comments are closed