Portadown & Drumcree RPC Awards 2013 –

Portadown & Drumcree RPC Awards 2013 –

Portadown & Drumcree RPC:  The local club has had excellent results in 2013 in the first season for the club following the amalgamation of the Portadown Invitation and Drumcree Social clubs.

Numerous Open & Section positions were won in the NIPA and INFC races. Some of the highlights included winning 5 Open prizes in the Rosscarbery National, 5 Open positions in 1st Talbenny and outstanding performance in the 2nd Talbenny with 10 Open positions with over 10,000 birds entered. The young birds also did well with 20 Section position in the first 2 races and a remarkable 6 Open prizes in the Penzance INFC National.

The best individual results included Bobby Creaney taking 1st Section and 2nd Open in the Penzance Classic and Aiden Fearon was 7th Open in the tough Portland National. Other notable top positions were won by Sloan & Reid who took 16th Open in Talbenny and Paul and Glen Matchett with 19th Open the Sennen Cove Yearling National.

Bobby Creaney was top Prize winner and also 2 Bird Champion taking 5 -1sts and 3 – 2nds.  Eleven members won cups and trophies and almost £1,000 prize money was won. Malcolm Livingstone won the Inland Average, Aiden Fearon the cross channel average and John Gordon won the young bird average.

The members worked hard to make the club such a success and the craic and good sportsmanship are the ingredients for a successful future.

The club held a dinner and prize distribution in Sally McNally’s restaurant and an excellent meal was enjoyed by all. Chief guest was Gerald Creaney who  enjoyed much success when racing and now is the loft manager for Ronnie Williamson were his expertise have helped Ronnie to achieve such great results, and also winning the Kings Cup this year.

Trophy  Race / Averages / Points & Winner –

B Creaney won – R Wilson Mem Cup Penzance YB National, Prentice Cup Penzance OB, Manulife Cup Penzance Classic, S Buckley Cup       Talbenny YB Derby, and W McDonald 2 Bird Club Points.

M Livingstone won – Fletcher Cup Old Bird – Rosscarbery               , Invitation Cup Inland OB Averages, and Pdown/ Drumcree Cup        Fermoy OB.

Sloan & Reid won – B Hagan Mem Cup 2nd Talbenny OB                and Drumcree Cup Fermoy Young Bird.

Hagan & Rowney won – C.F & B McNeice Pilmore Beach OB, Redmanville Trophy 5 Bird Fermoy OB, Blank Trophy 1st OB Winner, Blank Trophy Clonmel OB, Blank Trophy 1st Tullamore YB.

G Matchett & Son won – Porter Cup Yearling National, President’s Trophy Inland YB National, G. A Willis Trophy Highest points all Nationals, St Patrick’s  Hall Cup Skibbereen YB National, R Rowney Mem 2nd Tullamore YB.

Aiden Fearon won – A Cassell’s Cup Ist Talbenny OB, Marley Cup French OB Derby, Guinness Cup Lowest winning  Velocity NIPA.

J Gordon won – Denny Cup Young Bird Average, Comuprint Cup                Roscrea YB, Bank Trophy 5 Bird Mallow YB, Millennium Cup Kings Cup.

Allan McDonald won – G Matchett Memorial Bude OB / Rosscarberry, McCallum Cup Knock-out.

Liam Prunty won – Tweenway Trophy 3rd Tullamore YB. N Haughian won –  NICF                Bird of Year. P Duniak won – Channel Fed Cup Roscrea OB.

Portadown & Drumcree 2013.

Portadown & Drumcree 2013.




← Banbridge - Breeder/Buyer & Gold Ring Races EDC Fancier of the Year 2013 - →

About the author

Willie Reynolds

Covering the sport in Ireland for several years, scribe for both BHW & RP and a number of local newspapers including the News Letter (Farming Life Supplement) each Wednesday. Secretary of Ballymena & District for a number of years and currently PO for the Mighty NIPA & INFC. Watch out for the many articles/news items penned by HOMER.

Comments are closed