Randalstown Awards 2012 –

Winners 24 Mar 2013

Secretary Simon Millar recently supplied me with the club prize list for the 2012 racing season, he is to take a season or two out and may move house. Since starting to race on his own just a few seasons back he has won several 1sts at the Club, secured Highest Prize-winner, won 1st Open in the Penzance YB Grand Nat and won the Mid Antrim Combine Champions League. He has handed over to Stewart Logan and I wish him well, running a club is not an easy job without plenty of help.

Stewart Bros from The Grange dominated the racing last season winning 9 x 1sts and Inland OB Average, OB Cross Channel Ave, Combined Ave and Young Bird Ave. The big list of cups included the Tommy & Angela Cotter Trophy for Highest Prize-winner. They timed the first local bird in the St Malo OB National from France to finish 13th Sect B & 85th Open NIPA and were well placed in the Penzance YB Nat finishing 5th Combine, 19th North Sect & 32nd Open INFC 422/2,070. Simon Millar had a couple of good result in the old birds from Clonmel 1st MAC 110/2,617, 1st Sect B 165/3,997 and 7th Open NIPA 1,100/25,264 followed by 2nd MAC, 2nd Sect and 6th Open NIPA 341/1,548 in the Yearling Cock Nat from Rosscarbery. He also had two early arrivals in the Penzance YB Nat, the race he had won recently. Hugh Boyd had a good result in the Bude race 1st, 2nd and 3rd Club and 2nd MAC, 3rd Sect and 90th Open NIPA 569/4,489 with his winner. The top result for the year was in the INFC Yearling Nat flown from Sennen Cove when J McNeill & Son had the big early arrival topping the Muckamore Centre and finishing 1st MAC, 5th North Sect & 18th Open INFC 813/4,319. Anthony has a top result almost every season, this was another good one doing velocity 1067 for the 330 odd miles.

Cups & Trophies won by Stewart Bros – Clanmore Arms Cup, W & S Bell Cup, Samuel Rea Cup, M/M R S Magill Cup, John Kyle Cup, Patrick Marion Cup, A Simpson & Son Shield, R Adair Shield, Castledawson Cup, Norman Davis Trophy, BOCM Cup, Bell & McDowell Cup, Gerard Lynch Shield, W H Webb Cup and Cotter Trophy.

Houston Bros had 5 x 1sts and won – Best Ave First two YB Races, Henry Gribben Trophy, Bell, Kyle, Simpson Cup, Sean Simpson Trophy.

Hugh Boyd had 3 x 1sts and won – Joseph Boyd Memorial Trophy, McCausland Trophy, S McKeown Trophy, Samuel J Millar Cup, Gardner Kissich Cup.

D Logan & Son broke Novice Status winning one young bird race and the McCombe Trophy. New members F & G Dickey also won one race and the Sandra Simpson Trophy.

Randalstown have a proud history and have won a lot of the major races, I well remember Mr & Mrs Magill in their hey-day and the late Arthur Simpson won the famous Kings Cup with “Champion Shean” that won a Hall of Fame Diploma in the same race. The late John Kyle who was Chairman for several years served a term as NIPA President. Best wishes to Randalstown members in the new racing season.

Ace racers in the Randalstown HPS, Stewart Bros of the Grange.

Ace racers in the Randalstown HPS, Stewart Bros of the Grange.

← Larne & District Awards 2012 - Kevin Henderson of Lurgan Social - →

About the author

Willie Reynolds

Covering the sport in Ireland for several years, scribe for both BHW & RP and a number of local newspapers including the News Letter (Farming Life Supplement) each Wednesday. Secretary of Ballymena & District for a number of years and currently PO for the Mighty NIPA & INFC. Watch out for the many articles/news items penned by HOMER.

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.